pad thai

So my lovely husband has asked me to make “one asian type meal, once a week”. Demanding much?! (he is obsessed with asian food. Chinese & Thai, especially…)

So far I’ve been able to come across some excellently easy crock-pot asian meals (cashew chicken, peanut Thai stir-fry, etc), but last week I thought I’d make this delicious sounding recipe I found in my beloved Rebar cookbook.

It’s excellent and easy, so, I thought I’d share. I took the vegetarian route (tofu), but I’m sure you could do shrimp or chicken just as well!

Pad Thai with tofu, bean sprouts & roasted peanuts

8 oz snow peas, halved
1 lb package rice noodles
1/4 c ketchup or tomato paste
1/4 fish sauce (you can swap this for soy sauce if you are vegan)
1/4 c water
1/4 soy sauce
3 Tbsp molasses
1 Tbsp sambal oelek (I didn’t have any of this, nor did our grocery store, so I omitted it)
1/2 tsp cracked pepper
4 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 block extra firm tofu
8 large garlic cloves, minced
2-3 whole chiles, crushed
3 eggs, beaten (again, omit if vegan)
3 cups bean sprouts
2 bunches of green onions
1/2 bunch cilantro
1 lime
4 Tbsp roasted peanuts, crushed

Start by putting a large pot of water on to boil for blanching the snow peas and soaking the noodles. Once the water starts to boil, add the snow peas for 1 minute, or until bright green and tender. Lift them out with a slotted spoon. Turn off the heat, add the noodles to the water, cover and let soak for 5 minutes. Drain, rinse, and set aside.

Meanwhile, make the sauce by whisking together the ketchup, fish sauce, water, soy, molasses, sambal and pepper. Set aside. Drain tofu and cut the block into 1/2 inch pieces. Heat 1 Tbsp oil in a skillet, add the tofu, and saute until golden. Set aside. Prepare remaining ingredients so they are all at hand when you begin to stir fry.

In a large wok, heat 3 Tbsp oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic and crushed chiles and saute until golden, stirring constantly. Add beaten eggs and scramble until dry and set. Next, add the noodles and keep stirring them around to combine with the egg/garlic mix. The noodles will clump together, but that’s ok; continue stirring them for at least 5 minutes.

Turn up the heat and add the sauce, tofu, bean sprouts, and snow peas. Stir constantly to heat everything through and prevent sticking. After several minutes, add the scallions and cilantro and cook until the whole dish is hot and steamy right through. Divide pad Thai among plates, and drizzle with lime juice and sprinkle with peanuts.

3 thoughts on “pad thai

    • It’s a fantastic book. I cook from it once a week, I’d say…though I do make a LOT of the soups (and I think I remember you mentioning your littles aren’t as in to soup). Great soups, great entrees and some really yummy desert & smoothie recipes :) I am a FAN!

Leave a Reply

