Fifty-Two | Eleven

52:11 | Motherhood is: Mother’s Day! |

Happy Mother’s Day, moms! 

I hope you are having a fantastic day; a day filled with family, memories of being a new mom, watching your young ones grow…the perfect day to celebrate the fantastic parent that you are.

This is my official 2nd Mother’s Day (I also had one when I was pregnant, but that didn’t count as much), and I’ve been lucky enough to spend both M.D’s with my mom, my sister, and Sophie (and my dad & Wes too, of course).

here we are on our first Mothers Day–isn’t she so cute!

Unfortunately, this year we failed on the photo front. Soph is already snuggled up in her bed and I realize I didn’t get one singe photo of us together today. How did that happen?! Darn!

Anyway, Happy Mother’s Day to all you mom’s out there. It’s a pretty special job, and you deserve that recognition for how hard you’ve worked. [With the recent Time Magazine cover] Mothers have been in the media a lot this past week, and one thing I think we can all take from it (despite your views on the much-talked about topics) is that no matter what, Motherhood is a very special, intimate, personal thing. No matter how you go about it, what you had to sacrifice for it, or what you take from it–it’s your journey & your kids are lucky to have you.

“A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie.” — Tenneva Jordan

One thought on “Fifty-Two | Eleven

  1. love it. i remember my first mother’s day. loved the photos I captured of me and my big girl back then! i totally failed on the photo thing too this year. kevin got one of us all eating dinner, but still…not the same as a portrait. too busy behind the camera, i suppose!

    i’ve got to check out this TIME cover that you mention. hmmmm…

Leave a Reply

